Our Union


AWU members get a better deal at work.

We stand together to improve pay, conditions, and job security.

We help each other when the situation or times gets tough.

We fight to improve the working lives of tens of thousands of working Australians, which in turn supports their families and their communities.

We also work to ensure all working Australians get a better deal through our many safety, industrial, community, policy and political campaigns.

From steel workers to gold miners, fruit pickers to offshore gas workers, aluminium workers to hair stylists, we are unified by a commitment to progressive ideals and making a better Australia for all of us.

The AWU is owned by our members, and its direction is determined by them.

We are defined by a belief that every member is due the same respect, attention, and care. When we stand together, we are stronger together.

If you want the professional protection and strength that the AWU provides – join today by calling 1800 298 753 or by visiting our join page.

Union fees are tax-deductible and according to ABS figures, union members earn an average of $275 per week more than non-union workers.



Active AWU agreements


Awards covered by the AWU
(out of 144)


Extra dollars union members earn weekly

National Officials

National Executive Members

Marina Chambers
National President

Paul Farrow
National Secretary

Kade Wakefield
Assistant National Secretary

Gary Henderson
National Vice-President

Tony Beers
National Vice-President

Patrick Wood
National Vice-President

Sue Pethick
National Vice-President

Sandra Doumit
National Vice-President

Stacey Schinnerl
Queensland Branch Secretary

Mark Raguse
Queensland Executive Officer

Kurt Neumann
South-Western District Secretary

Tony Callinan
New South Wales Branch Secretary

Paul Delaney
New South Wales Assistant Branch Secretary

Ron Cowdrey
New South Wales Assistant Branch Secretary

Ronnie Hayden
Victorian Branch Secretary

Jimmy Mastrandonakis
Victorian Assistant Branch Secretary

Brad Gandy
West Australian Branch Secretary

Peter Lamps
South Australian Branch Secretary

Ian Wakefield
Tasmanian Branch Secretary

National Office Team

Paul Farrow
National Secretary

Kade Wakefield
Assistant National Secretary

Mark Fagan
Chief Operations Officer

Debra Bushell
PA to the National Secretary

Laura Cook
Operations Assistant

Zach Duncalfe
Senior National Legal Officer

Simon Miller
National Legal Officer

Chris Donovan
National WHS Director

Chris Hughes
National Trainer

Miranda Jamieson
National Trainer and Campaigns Officer

Shane Roulstone
National Mining Organiser

Jonathan Cook
National Organiser

Latileta Gaga
National Administration Officer

Thomas Mortimer
Policy Director

Alana Drayton
National Communications Director

Rufus Dadd-Daigle
Contact Centre Supervisor

Deanna Senica
Contact Centre Operator

Neeve Nagle
Contact Centre Operator

Veronia Ficarra
Contact Centre Operator

Olivia Lee
Contact Centre Operator

Clement Wang
Contact Centre Operator

Cheyne Howard
Contact Centre Operator


Financial Reports.

Read More

Employment Policies.

Read More
Be a part of our community.

Join the AWU.

Stronger together.


Member Benefits